aidsoversixty

a reader's journal & virtual public artspace for poz platinum points of view, lgbt political & cultural activism & other metaphoric narratives of the struggle for social justice

Mark S. King, My Fabulous Disease: When My T-cells are Old and Gray

When My T-cells are Old and Gray
by Mark S. King, September 14, 2011

My Fabulous Disease presents glimpses of my life with HIV and assorted other challenges, told with as much honesty as I can muster and often with the strongest medicine in my arsenal: a sense of humor.

Since this month marks the halfway point of my 50th year — yes, I keep track of my age that closely — allow me to present “When My T-cells are Old and Gray,” a funny video from the archives with a serious message about growing older, gay culture, and the pleasures of butt padding.

. . . If you’re new to the site, you can take a 30-second tour by watching the “Welcome Video – Play Me!” near the top of the page. Basically, my site includes the live blog “My Fabulous Disease,” as well as the ongoing series of videos created for the blog, my book “A Place Like This,” and various other videos and fun items you might enjoy.

Maintaining a clean and sober life is Job One today (my Newsweek piece outlines my self destructive path from a community AIDS leader to an I.V. drug user). I hope my work might speak to your own experiences, or help you understand the journey of someone unlike yourself. Whatever the case, thanks for visiting my site, and please be well.

– Mark

p.s. Oh, and who’s the overwrought woman peering at us from the footer below? None other than Anita Mann, a comic alter ego of mine. Check out her infamous “TV Set” number here. Or, choose the Anita Mann listing under categories above to see her full catalogue of multi-media nonsense!

Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

archives

---pages

blogroll

dictionaries & glossaries

elder links

fourth estate --- journalism, politics, storytelling & watchdoggery

HIV/AIDS specific

lgbt specific

medical cannabis

rhetoric, grammar & logic

wordpress

